The Nine planets in Vedic astrology

9 Grahas or nine planets are giving as Benific and Malific results

In Jyotish or Vedic Astrology there are 9 Grahas (planets) on basis of which astrologer and AstroNumerologist do their predictions after analysing the birth chart. In Vedic Astrology there are nine planets or Grahas.

The nine Grahas or Planets are called Surya the Sun, Chandra the Moon, Mangal (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (Northern lunar node and Ketu (Southern lunar node). The Sun is a star. Rahu and Ketu are not real planets.

The vedic planets are divided into two groups, according to their general auspicious and inauspicious nature. These two groups divided into two groups benefic or malefic. The Jupiter, Waxing Moon, Mercury and Venus are known as benefices. The Sun, Mars, Saturn, Waning Moon, Rahu and Ketu are classified as malefic.

  • Sun (Surya ) : Sun, One of its names is Aditya ("first born"). He is the ruler of all the planets. According to Hindu mythology, when the universe was immersed in darkness, Lord Vishnu split the entire universe in two halves with the piercing sound of "OM". Sun was created all by itself as a resultant entity. The sun is the father of our solar system, around which all of our planets revolve. The Sun represents the male or father principle. Natural friends are the Moon, Mars and Jupiter. Natural enemies are Saturn, Venus, Rahu and Ketu.

  • Moon (Chandra ): The Moon represents the mind and accordingly, it indicates a person's thinking, feeling, and other mental processes. It represents all things that have to do with one's mother, as well as motherhood in women. Moon is known as lord of herbs and medicinal plants in the aryuvedic scriptures. The word Soma, which means nectar, is another name of the moon. Moon acts on our psyche and subconscious. It gives us sensitivity and sentimentality. Moon plays a major role in the emotional life of every individual.

  • Mars (Mangal ) : Mars is known as the red planet. Mars in Sanskrit is known as Lohitang for its shiny red colour. Mars is the planet of violence, action, sex, and extremely fiery. Mars is the commander in chief of the assembly of the Gods. Mars is personified as a masculine in nature, dressed as a warrior, and riding a ram. Mars is famous for its courage, a strong sense of purpose, duty, order, discipline, bravery, patience and self confidence. Mars is considered as a malefic planet and the natives of these are very egoistic who put their own desires above those of others.

  • Mercury (Bhudha) : Mercury is the smallest planet in our solar system. One of the major aspects of Mercury planet is that it rules all forms of communication. It is the planet of mind and the power of communication. Mercury is widely associated with quick response, changeable character, ready wit and agitation. Mercury is also known as evergreen planet means always young which indicates youthful and princely nature. It is also called Buddha in Sanskrit which literally means intellect. Mercury rules over number 5 in Vedic numerology. It is related to respiratory system, nervous system, speech, and education.

  • Jupiter (Guru or Brhaspathi) : Jupiter by nature is the most brilliant and extensive planet. It is also called Guru which means both "heavy" and "remover of darkness" in Sanskrit. This makes Jupiter a teacher of the assembly of gods (deva-guru), a teacher of honesty, justice and self-illumination. Lord Shiva declared him to be guru of the gods. Jupiter is therefore known as Lord of Worship and Guru. According to the Hindu mythology the Jupiter is the planet of bravery, audacity, power, hard work, liveliness, knowledge and speech. Also Jupiter is the Lord of speech. Jupiter signifies good luck and good fortune.

  • Venus (Shukra) : Venus is known as the morning star, benefic planet with feminine watery nature. Venus is also known as shukra in sansrkit which literally means semen . Venus is associated with love, beauty and fertility. Venus is all about pleasure, socializing and relating to others are important to this Planet. Luxuries (jewelry, paintings, expensive cars), good food and drink, a beautiful home and a sense of refinement all please Venus's interests. In Hindu methodology he is the teacher of asuras. (antigods). Venus governs the romance beauty passion sexual pleasure fine arts music poetry dance.

  • Saturn (Shani ) : Saturn is the son of sun, and his wife Chhaya (Shadow goddess) and hence also known as Chayyaputra. He is the cousin of Yama, the Hindu God of justice. Saturn promised Hanuman that anyone who prayed to Hanuman, especially on Saturdays, would be rescued from the "malefic" effects of Saturn. Lord Shani is also known as Judge of Justice. In shani dasa if a person do wrong doings shani gets irritated and troubles him, but if a person do right doings and devoted shani will not give any bad effects to him. The Saturn rules number 8 in Vedic numerology. Saturn is also known as a planet of darkness.

  • Northern Lunar Node (Rahu) : Rahu is one of the massive planet, which is symbolized as a dragon with no body that swallows the sun or the moon causing eclipses. The Rahu Kal is considered inauspicious in Vedic numerology. Rahu is supposed to be a malefic planet, energetic, low in vibration, hedonistic, and eternally dissatisfied. It also makes native lazy and lethargic at times. They become revolutionaries, conspirators, spies and detectives. Rahu brings confusion, ignorance, phobias, enmity and big plans that need a long time to accomplish.

  • Southern Lunar Node (Ketu) : Ketu is a celestial body which is generally referred o as a "shadow" planet and is malefic by nature. Ketu has a tremendous impact on human lives. It is actually a spiritual planet and an indicator of enlightenment. Accordingly it is considered a "moksh-karaka", or a force which can lead to enlightenment and freedom from the cycle of repeated birth and death. Physically, it may cause the circulation to be poor, bad digestion, skin diseases, anaemia, ulcers, too much heat within the body and muscular or nervous system disorders, pains in joints and nerves.

Planet Relationships with each other

Each planet or Grahas has a friendly, equal or enmity relationship among themselves

Grahas (Planets)




Sun Moon , Mars , Jupiter Mercury Venus Saturn Rahu
Moon Sun Mercury Mars Jupiter Venus Saturn Rahu
Mars Sun Moon Jupiter Venus Saturn Mercury Rahu
Mercury Sun Venus Rahu Mars Jupiter Saturn Moon
Jupiter Sun Moon Mars Saturn Rahu Mercury Venus
Venus Mercury Saturn Rahu Jupiter Mars Sun Moon
Saturn Mercury Venus Rahu Jupiter Sun Moon Mars
Rahu Mercury Venus Saturn Jupiter Sun Moon Mars
Ketu Mercury Venus Saturn Rahu Jupiter Sun Moon Mars

Have a question or need a Phone consultaion?

Call Vikram Kabir Kapoor at +91 9625795152